Living life, here, now.

Rock Creek Parkway Bicycle Path, Washington, D.C. November 2015. 40 minutes into an hour and a half long ride around the District.
Rock Creek Parkway Bicycle Path, Washington, D.C. November 2015. 40 minutes into an hour and a half long ride around the District.

Humans are very efficient at making mental connections.  Somewhere a million years ago someone saw a snakebite kill someone and here we are, afraid of snakes.

I rely on that skill in my efforts to normalize female breasts.

If I appear bare-chested while otherwise behaving in a way an observer would consider normal, somewhere in the observer’s brain my behavior and my appearance are linked.

Pennsylvania Avenue SE, Washington D.C. November 2015.
Pennsylvania Avenue SE, Washington D.C. November 2015.

So I greet people, smile, chat.  I walk, ride my bike, play catch in the park.  I wear shorts or pants or skirts.  I run after an errant Frisbee.

In short, I behave as I would normally behave.

I also occasionally ignore the people around me.  I don’t mean that if someone speaks to me I don’t respond.  Never.  I mean from time to time I just don’t pay too much attention to how people are perceiving me.  (I monitor my surroundings for safety’s sake, but that’s every minute of every day, regardless of my attire.)

Being present and authentic in my experiences is vital because the most crucial component of all of this to me is that I am living my life, that I am enjoying being me, right here, right now.

I was roaming the world bare-chested years before friends asked me to create this blog.  My primary motivation for riding a bicycle bare-chested, say, was to feel free, not to write an article or tweet a funny photo.

To be sure, I am enjoying sharing these experiences, but I’d be riding that bicycle either way… for myself, and for the women who wish to but can’t. Yet.

If people see that authenticity and equate a bare-chested woman with normalcy and health, great.  If not, so what?  I’ve still had a blast doing something I love!

15th St. NW, in front of the White House, Washington D.C. November 2015.  I thought about my new friend, Angela, a lot on this ride. We will ride together soon. Promise!
15th St. NW, in front of the White House, Washington D.C. November 2015. I thought about my new friend, Angela, a lot on this ride. We will ride together soon. Promise!

See the whole ride here.

9 thoughts on “Living life, here, now.

    1. Why thank you! Sharing the blog is certainly a nice place to start. I’ve put a lot of effort into making clear messages. The more people that see them the better. And out there away from the blogosphere… continue supporting true equality as it sounds like you are. I think the most effective and lasting contribution any of us can make is to model the ideals we wish to see in others. Our examples carry more weight than our words. Again, thank you for your support and kind words. It means a lot.

      Like

  1. Hello! What a great blog. I just happened to stumble upon it earlier this morning. As these comments will appear public, I’ll need to be careful not to provide too much personal information. My wife and I definitely need to plan some get togethers (walks, picnics) should we ever get to the D.C. metro area, or cordially welcome you and your fiancé to some of our outings should you ever find yourselves anywhere near Portland, Eugene, Vancouver, or the perfect in-between point, Seattle. All four are topfree friendly, and we’ve had quite some adventures (with varying reactions), similar to those you describe. Like you, into having outdoor fun (not at all exhibitionism), and have thankfully never ran afoul of law enforcement. A few years ago, we got a great deal on last-minute airfare from SEA to NYC, and were happy to be invited to join the OCTPFAS group on their Memorial Day weekend outing to Washington Square Park. Keep the postings going and hopefully we can correspond from time to time? Sincerely, Anabella and Todd.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Anabella and Todd, thank you for visiting my blog. Please do let me know when you get to the east coast again (pick a warm day!) I’m always glad to hear of other women having quiet (drama-free) bare-chested experiences. Drop by drop we will fill the bucket. And yes, please feel free to correspond with me either here publicly or privately on e-mail. I like to learn from others’ experiences. Thank you for reaching out. Good work out there.

      Like

    1. Duly noted. Thank you 🙂 There is an interesting TED talk on helmets and head injury. I only go helmet less at slow speeds and in the upright position. On my daily commuter and road bike, helmet always. Helmet design is very important too. The wrong helmet can hurt worse than it helps apparently. But helmet design is improving finally. I appreciate your time. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

